Educational | Discovery/Science




0/10 from 0 users

the season has beena dded as 1st season  to:

Cosmos Next Episode Air Date

TV Show Ended.

Cosmos Images

List of episodes

S1E11 - The Persistence of Memory

The brain is the focus of this fascinating portion of our journey as Dr. Sagan examines another of the intelligent creatures with whom we share the planet Earth — whales. Then we wind through the maze of the human brain to witness the architecture of thought. We see how genes, brains, and books store the information necessary for human survival.

Air Date: 07 Dec 1980 19:00 (CDT)

S1E12 - Encyclopedia Galactica

Are there alien intelligences? How could we communicate with them? What about UFOs? The answers to these questions take us to Egypt to decode ancient hieroglyphics, to the largest radio telescope on Earth, and, in the Spaceship of the Imagination, to visit other civilizations in space. Dr. Sagan answers questions such as: "What is the life span of a planetary civilization?" and "Will we one day hook up with a network of civilizations in the Milky Way galaxy?"

Air Date: 14 Dec 1980 19:00 (CDT)

S1E13 - Who Speaks for Earth?

Through the use of special effects, we retrace the 15-billion-year journey from the big bang to the present. We also hear the tragic story of the martyrdom of Hypatia, the woman scientist of ancient Alexandria. This is the famous episode on nuclear war in which Dr. Sagan argues that our responsibility for survival is owed not just to ourselves, but also to the cosmos, ancient and vast, from which we spring.

Air Date: 21 Dec 1980 19:00 (CDT)