When will be Grand Tours of the Scottish Islands next episode air date? Is Grand Tours of the Scottish Islands renewed or cancelled? Where to countdown Grand Tours of the Scottish Islands air dates? Is Grand Tours of the Scottish Islands worth watching?

Genres: History | Travel
Station: BBC One (UK)
Status: Running
Start: 2013-09-23

Grand Tours of the Scottish Islands Next Episode Air Date

Grand Tours of the Scottish Islands Next Episode Airs in

- unknown -

There is no Next Episode of Grand Tours of the Scottish Islands planned.

Register Now!
Register Now and create Your Countdown!

Grand Tours of the Scottish Islands Air Dates

Ratings: 0/10 from 0 users
  • S01E01 - From Foula to Fair Isle

    In this first 'Grand Tours of the Scottish Islands', Paul Murton sets out to visit some of the myriad of islands that lay off our coastline. Heading to Foula and Fair Isle - the most remote island communities in Britain - Paul makes a nerve-wracking visit to 'Da Snekk o' da Smallie' - a pothole in the cliffs of Foula which leads through to the Atlantic shore on the island, and learns about the beautiful knitting patterns which have made Fair Isle world famous.

    Air Date: 23 September 2013 18:30 -
  • S01E02 - Islands in Loch Lomond: Landlocked Islands

    In the second episode of the series Paul Murton is turning his back on the sea and discovering the secrets of Scotland's landlocked islands; heading to the bonnie, bonnie banks of Loch Lomond. To begin his journey Paul takes a stunning microlight flight across the loch to get a bird's-eye view of one of Scotland's most iconic beauty spots, before going island hopping to meet some of the extraordinary people who live here.

    Air Date: 30 September 2013 18:30 -
  • S01E03 - Small Isles: Small Is Beautiful

    On this Grand Tour, Paul sets off from Mallaig to visit a group of islands famed for their unusual names: Rum, Muck and Eigg. Paul meets the real 'Lord Muck', visits the dramatic Kinloch Castle on Rum and joins the Eigg islanders in a very special celebration of the island's community buyout.

    Air Date: 07 October 2013 18:30 -
  • S01E04 - Lismore and Colonsay: Island Pilgrimage

    Continuing his island-hopping odyssey, Paul sets sail on an island pilgrimage in the footsteps of saints, visiting Lismore, Colonsay and Oronsay. Paul hears the extraordinary story of Saint Moluag who established a monastery on Lismore, joins writer Alexander McCall Smith on his yacht, and uncovers the remarkable secrets revealed by a Viking ship burial on Colonsay.

    Air Date: 14 October 2013 18:30 -
  • S01E05 - Islands of the Forth: Fortress Islands of the Forth

    In the fifth episode, Paul Murton explores the islands scattered in the Firth of Forth. He discovers that these seemingly peaceful islands have a dramatic history of war; from Medieval English raids on the monastic island retreat of Inchcolm, to the first air raid attack on Britain above Inchgarvie. Paul learns about the strategic importance of Inchkeith's defences during two world wars, before heading to the Bass Rock to learn more about the history of prisoners incarcerated on the unforgiving rock, with 160,000 gannets for company.

    Air Date: 21 October 2013 18:30 -
  • S01E06 - Skye: Against the Odds

    On the final grand tour of the series, Paul Murton goes over the sea to Skye to visit the home of celebrated writer and naturalist Gavin Maxwell, before scaling the famous Cuillin mountain, Am Bastier. On the nearby Isle of Raasay, he learns about 'Calum's Road' - the amazing true story of the determined crofter, Calum Macleod, who singlehandedly built a road to connect his isolated community.

    Air Date: 28 October 2013 19:30 -